City Council Officers Election May 4, 2024

The City of Hillsboro elects Councilmembers by Precinct/Places. The City is divided into five (5) precincts/places and candidates must live in the precinct/places they serve. These precincts/places are designated Councilmember Places 1 through 5. The Mayor and Council Place 6 are Elected At Large which allows every registered voter to cast a vote for those positions. The Mayor and Places 1, 3, and 5 are elected in odd-numbered years and Places 2, 4, and 6 are elected in even-numbered years. All positions serve 2 year terms and there are no term limits. The current Council includes:

Mayor Scott Johnson

Councilmember Eric Fleming, Place 1

Councilmember Larry Lloyd, Place 2

Councilmember Dana Robinson, Place 3

Councilmember Frances Zarate, Place 4

Mayor Pro Tem Leann Richmond, Place 5

Councilmember Jay Jolly, Place 6

Applications will be accepted for Places 2, 4, and 6 for the May 2024 Election. The City Council will officially call for the election at the Regular City Council Meeting on February 6, 2024. The first day to file an application with the City Secretary to be a candidate is January 17, 2024, and the last day to file is by 5:00 p.m. on February 16, 2024. Information on qualifications for candidates and applications are available by contacting City Secretary, Jasmine Guy, 214 E. Elm St., 254 582-3271, or jguy@hillsborotx.org.